McLaughlin does the double in Sydney


It is likely to be a unique trackside expertise, however Scott McLaughlin’s starvation for fulfillment stays after successful two races at the Supercars’ first spherical in greater than 100 days in Sydney.

The Ford flyer dominated Sunday’s second race from pole, making it three wins from 5 begins in the COVID-19-affected season.

Not even an nearly four-month hiatus and chronic hypothesis he’ll race in an Indy Car subsequent 12 months can cease McLaughlin’s cost in direction of a third-straight title.

The 27-year-old did it simply at Sydney Motorsport Park for his 46th profession victory, a day after holding off Holden rival Shane van Gisbergen to win the first accomplished race since February.

“The dedication of the entire group has been nice. There’s been some powerful occasions, not just for our staff however for everybody in the sport,” McLaughlin stated.

“The love and the wish to go racing once more. We can do as many cartoon (Eseries) races as we would like however there’s nothing like going on the market for the very first time and revving the engine.

“It’s fairly superior and I can not anticipate the followers to return again as a result of it is going to be so a lot better as properly.”

Tickford’s Lee Holdsworth made it a Ford one-two with a formidable drive after qualifying fourth quickest.

Seven-time champion Jamie Whincup accomplished a constant spectator-less spherical along with his third podium end of the Sydney Supersprint.

The Holden legend seems to be McLaughlin’s solely professional title menace with Kiwi rival Shane van Gisbergen struggling for consistency.

Earlier, Holden darkish horse Nick Percat denied McLaughlin a weekend three-peat by successful his first Supercars race since 2016 after eclipsing Whincup in the Holden legend’s 500th profession begin.

Percat began the first of two Sunday races from sixth however flew previous Whincup, who led from pole till lap 23.

It was the 31-year-old Brad Jones Racing driver’s third profession victory from his 200th begin and first in 4 years since an Adelaide 500 triumph.

“It’s taken a number of extra years than I’d’ve needed however, as quickly as we’re in a great place, we throw every thing at it.”

Percat joins McLaughlin (three) and Whincup as the season’s solely winners, with the coronavirus pandemic forcing the championship into shutdown since the Australian F1 Grand Prix was deserted mid-event.

McLaughlin win first Supercars return race


* 1. Scott McLaughlin (Ford)

* 2. Lee Holdsworth (Ford)

* 3. Jamie Whincup (Holden)

* 4. David Reynolds (Holden)

* 5. Mark Winterbottom (Holden).


* 1. Scott McLaughlin (Ford) 574 factors

* 2. Jamie Whincup (Holden) 525

* 3. Chaz Mostert (Holden) 432

* 4. Cameron Waters (Ford) 411

* 5. David Reynolds (Holden) 392.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply


To Top